Many Movies

Yet another slow news day for gaming. So let’s talk about another interest of mine, albeit far more casual: movies. I think I like movies as much as the next person, I’m far from a cinemaphile. Still, I have my opinions on certain movies. Well, most movies.

This year has already had some great films come out, and some not-so-great ones. Noteworthy titles so far have been LoganGuardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2Wonder WomanThe Mummy, and John Wick 2.

Probably the one I have my doubts over the most, and I need to see it again for a better opinion, is Wonder Woman. I adore Gal Gadot, purely because she’s drop dead gorgeous. She’s got decent acting ability, but I think my judgement is clouded. My reservations over the film come from various angles, one being the concern that as a DCEU film, it was more enjoyable because the other offerings have been rather poor.

That said, Wonder Woman was enjoyable to watch, and didn’t have my distinct disdain like Ghost in the Shell. I’m still extremely grateful that I didn’t pay to see that.

I still have some movies I’m looking forward to for the second half of the year, in order of anticipation: Star Wars VIII: The Last JediSpider-man HomecomingKingsman the Golden Circle, and Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets.

I consider myself a Star Wars fan. Maybe not an uber-fan, but a big one nonetheless. I’m somewhat surprised at the lack of excitement for this year’s instalment. I understand that this is the third year in a row with a Star Wars film, but surely I can’t be the only one excited to see what’s next for the new generation of the saga. We’ll be getting an older Luke, one who seems to be done with the Jedi (what does it mean, Gray Jedi? No Jedi? WHAT). We’ll hopefully see Finn wake up from his coma, otherwise this is John Boyega’s easiest pay-cheque ever. There’s a lot to bring together and to leave hanging for Episode IX. Hopefully we’ll get an iconic moment of shock.

Spider-man Homecoming is out this Friday, and as a Spidey fan I’m extremely optimistic about this third version reboot. Tom Holland’s portrayal was the only redeeming factor of the forgettable Civil War (which I still think of as Avengers 3). While I’m optimistic, I am realistic. There is a lot of room for disappointment. So here’s hoping.

Kingsman the Golden Circle has me excited, but also somewhat cautious. The first one was phenomenal. It wasn’t perfect, but it’s easily one of my favourite movies of all time. Top 25, easy. This one looks like it will be star-packed, which could go either way. Some movies with this many big names are over-loaded, a bit like Queens Park Rangers from the 2013/2014 season. Some do well. This one has already spoilt the return of Colin Firth’s character, so hopefully it blows us away, instead of making us regret that they made it.

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets is a Luc Besson film, and that’s enough to get me to see it. Ignoring the filthy abomination that was Lucy, I trust him as a director. Léon: The Professional is, to date, one of the best films I’ve ever watched. Pure genius, made exceptional by three superb cast members. The Fith Element was great, but I watched it as a kid and it never left much of an impression. The Family, with Robert De Niro, Michelle Pfeiffer, and Dianna Agron was completely underrated. Hopefully this is more of the same, rather than the pure trash that was Lucy.

And to leave you off, with maybe some hype about the upcoming movies I’m hyped about, here are the trailers:

Retort here:

