Crash! Bang! Boom!

 

It’s been a while again! My blog discipline needs some work. As such, I’m putting out a quick one today to get back into writing (briefly).

Crash Bandicoot The N. Sane Trilogy released this previous weekend on PS4, and boy was it popular.

I’ve spent most of the weekend either playing Crash, or steadfastly avoiding it. It’s probably the best example of a remaster available, and the originals have been translated excellently onto current-gen software. The problem with this is that I’d forgotten how punishingly difficult these games are. Well, at least the first one. I think I’ll put a proper “review” of the trilogy together when I’ve played more of the second and third games, for now I’m completing a task 21 years in the making.

I first played Crash Bandicoot on the original PlayStation at a friend’s house. The lack of a memory card, and the fact that we were little kids, meant that we didn’t really progress far in the game. We spent most of our time with Warped later on, seeing it as easier and more fun.

I think many of us have forgotten how difficult games used to be. It’s possible that difficulty has been watered down for the masses, which makes sense. Games has supposedly become an industry more lucrative than the film industry (I can’t find the numbers, remind me to research this later). Even if games aren’t bigger than movies, certain numbers don’t lie. Over 60 million PlayStation 4s have shipped since the console’s launch. That’s a massive number. The Xbox One number might look small in comparison (probably 30 million), but that’s still a hefty total. That’s about 90 million current-gen consoles out in the wild. Even with overlap of ownership, that’s a lot of people buying games that cost anything between $1 and $90 (remember those collector’s editions and Season Passes). That’s big.

I digress. Gaming is big, it’s popular, and there’s reason to believe it’s growing. Of course, if you’re selling games, you want it to be accessible when you’re dealing with these numbers. All that to say that it seems reasonable that games have become less difficult. Talk about a long walk for a short drink. Geez.

It turns out Crash Bandicoot was made in an era when game devs were evil sadists, and gamers willing masochists. And we still adore them for it. We remember those torturous sessions fondly, and releases like this fall into “nostalgia”. Probably the best example of Stockholm syndrome I’ve ever seen.

Anyway, Crash  has been hard. And while I have been tempted to squeeze my controller into fine dust at times, I’m enjoying returning to a series I haven’t touched for years (see what I mean about that syndrome business?). I guess I’ll leave the detailed impressions for another post.

Until later, alligator.

Retort here:

